Black Love Oracle Day 3: Power #blacklivesmatter #whateverwhenever

30 08 2014

“All I want to know
for my own protection
is are we capable
of whatever
whenever.”

Essex Hemphill “For My Own Protection”

The #whateverwhenever oracle is Eternal Summer of the Black Feminist Mind’s offering to the #blacklivesmatter ride, a national movement in solidarity with young black people in Ferguson, Missouri with a vision towards a just society within which black life is cherished.   Today’s poem is Audre Lorde’s 1973 poem “Power” which she wrote about her nightmares and outrage over the police murder of ten year old Clifford Glover.  I offer it today because y/our presence in Ferguson reminds me what power actually means. 

To activate the oracle, choose a letter of the alphabet (your initials? the initials of a loved one? a letter that is speaking to you..) and read the poem for that letter aloud to yourself.  If you happen to choose a letter that has no words in the original poem you get to make your own poem using only words that begin with that letter of the alphabet. 

A

and

am

and

a

and

and

at

as

am

and

a

a

and

a

and

at

and

approval

and

a

and

as

and

as

an

and

and

an

and

as

and

a

a

are

 

B

 

between

being

black

blood

blood

bleach

bones

boy

blood

by

been

Black

Black

been

but

between

beat

bed

beasts

 

C

 

children

child

cheeks

churns

cop

childish

color

convinced

coals

centuries

cement

children

corrupt

connect

chorus

 

D

 

difference

desert

dead

dragging

dry

desert

destruction

dying

down

die

defense

didn’t

done

dragged

destruction

difference

day

 

E

 

edge

else

eleven

ever

85

 

F

 

face

for

for

forcing

free

4’10”

frame

four

first

for

 

G

 

gunshot

go

graveyard

greek

 

H

 

his

his

his

hatred

heal

his

his

his

had

had

her

hot

had

her

have

her

her

hurt

 

I

 

is

instead

I

is

imagined

into

it

into

I

imagery

in

in

it

in

I

I

I

I

it

is

I

in

 

J

 

justice

 

K

 

kill

kisses

 

L

 

liquid

lips

loyalty

lost

little

let

lined

learn

lie

limp

 

M

 

my

miles

my

my

mouth

magic

make

my

motherfucker

man

men

me

meaning

male

make

me

my

mold

my

mother

 

N

 

notice

nor

nothing

not

nearest

 

O

 

of

on

of

off

of

only

or

of

if

ir

out

of

only

old

over

own

only

old

of

one

over

of

of

our

or

one

old

 

P

 

power

poetry

punctured

power

policeman

prove

prove

police

power

poetry

power

poisonous

plug

poor

 

Q

 

quicker

Queens

 

R

 

rhetoric

ready

raw

reason

real

rhetoric

run

raping

 

S

 

shattered

shoulders

stomach

splits

sinks

son

sun

shot

stood

shoes

said

size

set

said

satisfied

said

she

she

socket

somebody’s

senseless

set

singing

she

 

T

 

the

to

trapped

the

the

the

taste

thirsting

the

the

the

trying

to

trying

to

the

ten

the

there

tapes

to

trial

this

the

the

there

tapes

that

too

today

that

37

13

they

they

they

the

the

to

to

touch

to

the

too

take

teenaged

to

the

torch

to

thing

they

 

U

 

until

unless

useless

unconnected

 

V

 

voice

 

W

 

wounds

while

without

wetness

whiteness

where

without

with

will

who

with

white

with

was

white

who

were

Woman

who

white

womb

with

within

will

will

who

will

what

 

X

 

Y

 

yourself

your

year

year

years

 

Z

 

 


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

